Stereo Upgrade

Showcase your rides here. Read "Picture Help" to find out how to host your pic's
Post Reply
User avatar
vinnie55
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:31 am
Location: Adelaide

Stereo Upgrade

Post by vinnie55 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:30 am

SO.

Stock stereo just dosn't cut it.

Removed door card and mounting bracket
Image

Image

The holes on the new speakers don't line up.
Image

solution - Drill press
Image

Response 6'' kevlar cone, tweeter and crossover.
Image

Selectable Tweeter attenuation (hard wired only)
Image

Wiering
Image

THANKYOU MR ISUZU FOR LEAVING ROOM FOR A CROSSOVER!!!!!
Image

Before
Image

After
Image

Glued tweeter above cig lighter
Image

Final Product
Image

IZU069
Power Moderator
Power Moderator
Posts: 963
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Melbourne (Orstralia)

Post by IZU069 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:18 am

Show off!

Drill-press indeed. I have enough troubles finding a suitable drill bit! (And usually try to burn a hole through with my soldering iron instead. I'm still very trying...)


And after all these years, any new speaker would probably be a improvement. (See the old stained cone - probably lost flexibility etc.)


But real nice to see how an upgrade is done, and should be done, and modernised to take advantage of modern hardware etc.
(Though I'd consider mounting the crossover more accessibly - maybe under the dash? In part for easier tuning (if applicable); in part foe more speaker "box" volume. But it may b you have it in the only cavity available...?
IZU069 - ISUZU means a lot to me.

User avatar
vinnie55
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:31 am
Location: Adelaide

Post by vinnie55 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:05 am

hahaha nice, slodering iron drilling.

Yeah, the kevlar cones on these are pretty rigid. And immidiately I tested with the graphic EQ and they have more headroom before clipping and extend down as far as I want them to. If you push 125hz right up you will clip them, ditto with 60hz. However, I'm going to wire a sub in soon, so I can then set the crossover point of the sub (the amp has hi pass and lo pass filters) to about 150hz.

I actually used the same speakers in the fuego and I mounted the crossovers in the footwell.....it was a disaster. Yeah they were accessible but if anyone else got into my car they would kick them off...

With this setup I am a tad concerned about the connections coming out, so i screwed them in uber tight.
They wont need tuning, I leave the tweeters on the maximum reduction because they are much closer to my ear than the woofers.

User avatar
eyecon
God member
God member
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:53 pm
Location: Australia's Capital

Post by eyecon » Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:42 pm

Nice job vinnie. I might pick your brains when the time comes

User avatar
eyecon
God member
God member
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:53 pm
Location: Australia's Capital

Post by eyecon » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:07 am

Out of interest have you changed the head unit over, and did you fnd up getting that CD pin connector/adaptor from eBay?

User avatar
vinnie55
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:31 am
Location: Adelaide

Post by vinnie55 » Mon Feb 28, 2011 5:36 pm

Ah. I've just started that process.
I havn't bought that addaptor, and the reason for that is I want to keep the original graphic EQ.
That addaptor is designed to go from the isuzu plug on the car end (that normally goes to the graphic) to your replacement headunit. therefore totally bypassing the graphic.

-if anyone can tell me what the 5 pin din plugs on the back of the stock head unit do I'll be very gratefull

User avatar
eyecon
God member
God member
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 9:53 pm
Location: Australia's Capital

Post by eyecon » Mon Feb 28, 2011 9:45 pm

Yeah I'd like to keep the Graphic EQ too. It's so old school but still a great unit. Hope you get an answer re the plug issue.
Last edited by eyecon on Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
vinnie55
Senior Member
Senior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed May 12, 2010 1:31 am
Location: Adelaide

Post by vinnie55 » Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:25 pm

I'm now buying a workshop manual off this forum. hoping that has it in it....
Tho it would make sense if it didn't

User avatar
wedgenut
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1636
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 9:39 pm
Location: Hibiscus Coast NZ

Post by wedgenut » Wed Mar 02, 2011 3:43 pm

if anyone can tell me what the 5 pin din plugs on the back of the stock head unit do I'll be very gratefull
Radionautics aint my bag and I have not seen the later model aussie set up, what I can tell you is that the earlier (up until 1987), even JDM versions that only had an AM/FM tuner were linked to a tape deck by a five pin din plug. On these early models the R/L balance operated of the radio and the fader worked off the tape deck. Maybe it is a hangover, after all even in the late 80's early 90's tape players were still being fitted to some cars. I still have a couple of those tape decks if your grandma wants to listen to Bing Crosby while tooling around town with her hat on backwards :finga:
So many cars, so little cash

Palos
Probationary
Probationary
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 6:27 am
Location: 805, CA

Post by Palos » Wed Feb 08, 2012 2:39 am

Haha, nice work.

Post Reply